Ballarat Bowling Club

The Ballarat Bowling Club was formed on the 13th December 1864 at  a meeting held at Ahrens Exchange Hotel in Ballarat. Initially it began as the Victoria Bowling Club, however, in April 1865, the resident members felt that given it was the only bowling club outside of Melbourne, it should reflect the name of the town. And so it became the Ballarat Bowling Club.

It has existed on the current site since inception, after being granted a portion of the land at the "Eastern Recreation reserve" by the council of the time - the Eastern Borough Council. This formation date makes the club the second oldest bowling club in Australia. 

In 2014, the Club celebrated its 150th Birthday and continues to grow stronger.

The Club has produced many outstanding bowlers and has been the foundation for many young bowlers who have gone onto greater heights in the sport. In its rich history, the Club has won 47 pennant premierships, including 26 in Division 1.

With a new synthetic green just completed for the 2016 pennant season, the Club will welcome another major step in its history and provide its members with an alternative surface for competition and social bowls year round.